July 3, 2017

National Association of State Secretaries 444 North Capitol Street NW, Suite 401 Washington, DC 20001

Dear State Secretaries:

We write to you regarding the recent letter from the Presidential Advisory Commission on Election Integrity ("PACEI") to state election officials, requesting detailed personal information from your state voter registration records. We are technical experts, legal scholars, and representatives of organizations expert in election integrity, voting verification, and voter privacy. We strongly oppose the PACEI request for voter record information and urge you not to comply.

## The PACEI is seeking:

"the full first and last names of all registrants, middle names or initials if available, addresses, dates of birth, political party (if recorded in your state), last four digits of social security number if available, voter history (elections voted in) from 2006 onward, active/inactive status, cancelled status, information regarding any felony convictions, information regarding voter registration in another state, information regarding military status, and overseas citizen information."

This is sensitive, personal information that individuals are often required to provide to be eligible to vote. There is no indication how the information will be used, who will have access to it, or what safeguards will be established.<sup>2</sup> Moreover, it appears that the Presidential Commission has failed to undertake and publish a Privacy Impact Assessment, required by federal law, prior to the collection of personal data.<sup>3</sup>

Although the standards vary across the country, there is no question that voter privacy -- and the secret ballot in particular – are integral to the American system of democracy. It is absolutely unprecedented for the federal government to demand the production of voter records from the states.

As custodians of voter data, you have a specific responsibility to safeguard voter record information. We urge you to protect the rights of the voters in your states and to oppose the request from the PACEI.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See, e.g., Letter from Kris W. Kobach, Vice Chair, PACEI, to Hon. Elaine Marshall, Secretary of State, North Carolina (June 28, 2017).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> See EPIC, "Voter Privacy and the PACEI," epic.org/privacy/voter/pacei/.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Pub.Law 107-347, 44 U.S.C. § 3501 (Note). *See also* "M-03-22 OMB Guidance for Implementing the Privacy Provisions of the E-Government Act of 2002" (Sept. 26, 2003).

For further information regarding this statement, please contact EPIC President Marc Rotenberg (rotenberg@epic.org) or EPIC Policy Director Caitriona Fitzgerald (fitzgerald@epic.org).

## **ORGANIZATIONS**

**Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)** 

Center for Democracy & Technology

Center for Media and Democracy

Center for Media Justice

Constitutional Alliance

Consumer Federation of America

**Consumer Action** 

**Consumer Watchdog** 

Cyber Privacy Project

Defending Rights & Dissent

Federation of American Scientists

Lawyers for Good Government

Liberty Coalition

National Center for Transgender Equality

National Network to End Domestic Violence

New America's Open Technology Institute

**Patient Privacy Rights** 

Privacy Rights Clearinghouse

**Privacy Times** 

RootsAction.org

World Privacy Forum

## **INDIVIDUAL EXPERTS**

Alessandro Acquisti, Professor, Carnegie Mellon University

Ann Bartow, Professor of Law, University of New Hampshire School of Law

Francesca Bignami, Professor of Law, The George Washington University Law School

Christine L. Borgman, Distinguished Professor & Presidential Chair in Information Studies, UCLA

Kimberly Bryant, Founder/Executive Director, Black Girls CODE

David Chaum, Voting Systems Institute

Danielle Keats Citron, Morton & Sophia Macht Professor of Law, University of Maryland Carey School of Law

Julie E. Cohen, Mark Claster Mamolen Professor of Law and Technology, Georgetown Law

Jennifer Daskal, Associate Professor, American University Washington College of Law Cynthia Dwork, Distinguished Scientist, Microsoft Research

David J. Farber, Distinguished Career Professor of Computer Science and Public Policy, Carnegie Mellon University

Michael Fischer, Professor of Computer Science, Yale University

Martin Hellman, Member, US National Academy Engineering, Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University

Candice Hoke, Co-Director, Center for Cybersecurity & Privacy Protection, Professor of Law, C|M Law, Cleveland State University

Deborah Hurley, Harvard University and Brown University

Dr. David Jefferson, Visiting Scientist, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Jeff Jonas, Founder and Chief Scientist, Senzing

Douglas W. Jones, Department of Computer Science, University of Iowa, coauthor of *Broken Ballots: Will Your Vote Count*, CSLI, 2012

Lou Katz, Ph.D., founder, Usenix Association

Joe Kiniry, CEO and Chief Scientist, Free & Fair

Chris Larsen, Executive Chairman, Ripple, Inc.

Harry Lewis, Gordon McKay Professor of Computer Science, Harvard University

Anna Lysyanskaya, Professor of Computer Science, Brown University

Gary T. Marx, Professor Emeritus of Sociology, MIT

Mary Minow, Senior Fellow, Advanced Leadership Initiative, Harvard University

Jennifer L. Mnookin, Dean and David G. Price & Dallas P. Price Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law

Eben Moglen, Professor of Law, Columbia Law School

Erin Murphy, Professor of Law. NYU School of Law

Peter G. Neumann, Computer Science Laboratory, SRI International

Helen Nissenbaum, Professor, NYU + Cornell Tech

Frank Pasquale, Professor of Law, University of Maryland Carey School of Law

Ron Rivest, MIT Institute Professor

Pam Samuelson, Richard M. Sherman Distinguished Professor of Law, Berkeley Law School

Bruce Schneier, Security Technologist; Author, Data and Goliath (2015)

Barbara Simons, Ph.D., IBM Research (retired)

Eugene H. Spafford, Professor, Purdue University

Philip B. Stark, Associate Dean, Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Professor, Department of Statistics, University of California

Nadine Strossen, John Marshall Harlan II Professor of Law, New York Law School; Former President, American Civil Liberties Union

Sherry Turkle, Abby Rockefeller Mauzé Professor of the Social Studies of Science and Technology, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Poorvi L. Vora, Professor of Computer Science, The George Washington University Jim Waldo, Gordon McKay Professor of the Practice, Chief Technology Officer, Harvard University

Anne L. Washington, Assistant Professor, Schar School of Policy and Government, George Mason University

Chris Wolf, Board Chair, Future of Privacy Forum

Shoshana Zuboff, Charles Edward Wilson Professor of Business Administration, Retired (affiliations are for identification only)