### **PROGRAM**

Stephen Brobeck .......Welcome Executive Director Consumer Federation of America Executive Director MASSPIRG United States Senate Service Award Presented by The Honorable Jack Reed United States Senate 2008 Philip Hart Public Service Award Illinois Attorney General Service Award Presented by The Honorable Dick Durbin United States Senate 2002 Philip Hart Public Service Award Albert (Bert) Foer ...... Esther Peterson Consumer Founder and Former President Service Award American Antitrust Institute Presented by Joan Claybrook President Emeritus Public Citizen 1986 Esther Peterson Consumer Service Award Author and Investigative Journalist Media Service Award Presented by Ed Mierzwinski Consumer Program Director

U.S. PIRG

2006 Esther Peterson Consumer Service Award

# PHILIP HART PUBLIC SERVICE AWARD

#### SENATOR SHERROD BROWN

Senator Brown has dedicated his life to public service, serving as a member of the Ohio House of Representatives from 1974 to 1982, as Ohio Secretary of State from 1983 to 1991, as a member of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1993 to 2007, and currently as a U.S. Senator. In each of these positions, Senator Brown has sought to advance and protect the interests of ordinary citizens in their roles of consumers and workers. His consumer contributions range widely and include health care reform, financial services reform, improved motor vehicle safety, clean energy, and mitigating childhood hunger. As Ranking Member of the U.S. Senate Committee on Banking, Housing, & Urban Affairs, he has been a strong defender of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau against industry attacks and was instrumental in turning back House opposition to needed consumer protections for military families. In the area of consumer safety, he was the major sponsor of the hard-fought motor coach safety bill that will require all newly manufactured buses be equipped with three-point seat belts beginning later this year. Senator Brown holds the seat that was held by the late Senator Howard Metzenbaum, a longtime consumer hero, who served as CFA's Honorary Chairman after he left the Senate. Senator Metzenbaum would have been very pleased that CFA is awarding our Philip Hart Public Service Award to Senator Brown.

# PHILIP HART PUBLIC SERVICE AWARD

#### ATTORNEY GENERAL LISA MADIGAN

For more than a decade, Lisa Madigan has been the most vigorous and successful state attorney general in protecting consumers. Since her election as Illinois Attorney General in 2002, she has built what she characterizes as "the largest public interest law firm" in the state, and one of its top priorities has been consumer protection. In the area of financial services, Attorney General Madigan has been a national leader in fighting predatory lending and mortgage fraud. Working through the courts, she obtained more than \$12 billion in damages and restitution for borrowers. She also gained a \$1.4 billion settlement from S&P Global Ratings to resolve blatant conflicts of interest in its ratings of financial firms. Working through the Illinois legislature, she persuaded legislators to tighten controls on abusive mortgage lending practices resulting in foreclosures. In the area of utilities, Attorney General Madigan has served as the consumers' advocate before the state Illinois Commerce Commission, securing more than \$2 billion in rate decreases. In the area of data security and privacy, Attorney General Madigan is leading numerous multi-state investigations into data breaches at national retailers. Her own Identity Theft Unit has helped tens of thousands of Illinois consumers remove fraudulent charges from their credit. In the area of health and safety, the Attorney General has focused special attention on nursing home safety, successfully fighting for adequate background checks of workers, full information for residents and their families, and unannounced compliance checks. Lisa Madigan is only the fourth state attorney general to receive the Philip Hart Public Service Award. It is well deserved.

# ESTHER PETERSON CONSUMER SERVICE AWARD

#### ALBERT (BERT) FOER

Since 1998, Bert Foer has been the consumer movement's leading antitrust advocate. In that year, encouraged by Ralph Nader, he founded the American Antitrust Institute (AAI), serving as its president until 2014 and as a Senior Fellow since then. Foer earned his law degree from the University of Chicago and, after a stint in private law practice, worked for the Federal Trade Commission where he held the position of Assistant Director and Acting Deputy Director of the Bureau of Competition. Yet, it was as the founder and leader of AAI that he made his public mark. The only consumer group focused solely on antitrust issues, AAI is a virtual network of more than 100 competition policy experts around the world that submits amicus briefs, publishes papers, and hosts symposiums. Involving these experts in policymaking has provided important support for competition in numerous court cases and federal antitrust decisions, from the proposed purchase of T-Mobile USA by AT&T, to big airline mergers. Foer has also written or edited numerous publications on antitrust issues. CFA is pleased to honor him with the Esther Peterson Consumer Service Award.

# BETTY FURNESS CONSUMER MEDIA SERVICE AWARD

#### **BOB SULLIVAN**

For more than two decades, journalist Bob Sullivan has written and spoken critically about anti-consumer practices both through major news outlets and a series of books. For nearly 20 years, he worked for MSNBC.com/NBC News, where he created and wrote the consumer/tech blog, *The Red Tape Chronicles*. Now an independent journalist, he still contributes to CNBC.com and NBCNews.com, and continues to appear on NBC TV programs as a consumer and technology expert. He also contributes to *Credit.com*, and his stories have appeared in major newspapers, magazine, and websites. Sullivan has written four books, including two New York Times bestsellers, Gotcha Capitalism in 2008 and Stop Getting Ripped Off! in 2010. His latest book, The Plateau Effect, was published as a hardcover in 2013 and a paperback in 2014, under the title Getting *Unstuck.* In addition to being a prolific writer and commentator, Sullivan has uncovered anti-consumer practices. He was the first to report that the FBI developed a computer program designed to obtain public encryption keys. He was also the first to reveal the data theft at ChoicePoint, which encouraged other journalists to focus on the issue. He is a worthy recipient of the Betty Furness Consumer Media Service Award.

#### MEMBERS OF THE AWARDS DINNER COMMITTEE

Katrinka Smith Sloan, *Chairman* Larry Blanchard Regene Mitchell Charles E. Snyder

## CONSUMER FEDERATION OF AMERICA'S

# Forty-Sixth Annual Awards Dinner

June 22, 2016